Fly on the wall

13 Nov

I wish the fly on the wall had a tape recorder so that anytime I had a painful conversation with my husband, we could listen to it hours later and laugh.

The dreaded, “Where are we going to be on Christmas?” conversation happened yesterday. It was more awful than I imagined it would be. I was warned by several people that the holiday compromise is a huge challenge. I didn’t believe or listen to any of them. I was the asshole friend who told them all to learn how to communicate with one another. Duh.

My family is here. My husband’s family is in Texas. My husband is a school teacher who gets 2 weeks off for Christmas break. I am not.

Not only is this our first year together for the holidays as a married couple, it’s actually our first year spending the holidays together. Period. Last year he went home for both, Thanksgiving and Christmas and I stayed here. (We were engaged by the way. Stop me now, that’s a different conversation.)

Naturally, I tell him what I’d like to do, which means what we should do, which hopefully means what we are going to do. Start our own traditions as a family, get a real Christmas tree and wake up together on Christmas day in our real pine-scented home with our cute dog.

The tape recorder and the fly will come in handy right about now…

“So, if we stay here and celebrate together in our house, are we going to visit your family at all?”

“Well, yes. I would imagine that’s the obvious thing to do since my family lives here.”

“But, I won’t be seeing my family on Christmas. I just don’t know if it’s fair.”

“SO, when we go to Texas on Christmas day next year, remember to bring my BLIND FOLD. Since seeing them and not my family wouldn’t be fair.”

I really said that. He really brought me to a point where I had to say that. Seriously. Come on.

Anyway, long story short:
Traditions with my Huz and dog will start this year. In Las Vegas. On Christmas Day.

Moral of the story: The Holidays, from here on out, SUCK.

2 Responses to “Fly on the wall”

  1. Rachel Del Grosso November 13, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m in the same boat, this year not included.
    This will be our first Christmas as a married couple. Last year I was visiting him here in Vegas from Dec 11-23 and then went home to spend the holidays with my family. I knew when I moved out here that I wouldn’t be spending Christmas with my family in Ontario this year, but who knows what will happen once next Christmas comes around. I’m glad I don’t have to worry about that for another year (sorry!)

  2. Notes from McBotes November 13, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I think the dreadful part is inevitable. Sorry you won’t be home for the holiday! Hopefully next year, when you have to worry about it, you will get to head home for a bit. 🙂
    Sacrifices.. it’s tough!

Leave a Reply

