Thankful

8 Nov

I always tell my Huz how lucky I am to have him around. I don’t tell him too much, because I really mean it. The overuse of THANK YOU, IM SO LUCKY! or I LOVE YOU MORE THAN LIFE!  just sort of kills it after a while.

Every now and then I hear stories from friends or television or whatever, that make me really appreciate what I have.

At lunch today I was eating with one of my coworkers who is 3 years older than I am and just celebrated her one year wedding anniversary. Well, she has been married for 1 year. Today she told me they didn’t actually celebrate, they just ate In-n-Out Burger because, “we need somethin’ to celebrate to celebrate. We didn’t make it anywhere yet.”

Depressing. Although, In-n-Out is sort of a celebration all by itself.  (A place with 5 things on the menu, a long-ass line any time of day and a buncha hype is a reason to celebrate in my book. )

I asked a few questions that prompted, what seemed to be the best venting session she’s had all year. Including how excited she is to come to work even though she has a job she doesn’t really care for, because that’s how miserable she is at home. Over the last few months he’s been checking her cell phone, calling her every 15 minutes if she’s not home, calling her work phone non-stop to see where she is and what she’s doing because work can’t be that busy, etc. He goes “to work out” for 6 hours at a time, she can’t touch his cell phone or his things, etc.

The worst part was that I gave her my opinion (luckily it’s the same as her mom, dad and best friends opinion) and the look in her eyes was as if I just taught her the answer to a math problem that had been taking her months to solve. It clicked. She got it. She heard it one more time…just what she needed to hear. It made me so sad to see her figure out that her marriage is most likely failing and she knows exactly why. I’m not trying to air someones dirty laundry by any means, but this is not the first friend I know that’s been through this.

It really makes me beyond appreciative that when it comes to being married to the man of my dreams, I just don’t have anything worthy to complain about. I know a good relationship/marriage/friendship is never easy and I certainly understand that we haven’t been married long enough to give advice. I’m not saying that we’ve never bickered or argued or wanted to scream. But, I do know that we don’t need to worry about drama.

I’m happy that we are friends, we are a team and we are making it.

2 Responses to “Thankful”

  1. Rachel Del Grosso November 8, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I love this post (minus the sad, sad part about your co-worker; but best she realize it now and make a change while it’s still early. at least there are no children involved [i assume]).

    I too married a wonderful, wonderful man 🙂

  2. Notes from McBotes November 9, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    I’m so happy someone can relate. It seems like more and more sad marriages/relationships are all I hear about.

    No children, nothing owned together, etc. I feel the same way, “better to know now than 10 years from now.” Still sad.

    Kudos for love. ❤

Leave a Reply

