LAS VEGAS!

1 Oct

One of my biggest pet peeves is when people constantly bash Las Vegas. Especially people who are from here or live here.

I was born and raised here with the majority of my family and dearest friends and we are all healthy and fabulous and well-rounded and successful.

It doesn’t matter where you are, it only matters what you make of it.

My former best friend of 14 years up and moved her little family to Utah because, I CAN’T RAISE MY KIDS IN VEGAS. (Even though she and her family were successfully raised here…)
Also, notice the word former is due to her wildly outrageous immaturity, which is another post.

ANYWAY, my point is that I found this list
http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/24713234/ns/today-today_101/t/best-places-raise-family/

100 BEST PLACES TO RAISE A FAMILY

and Las Vegas is on there and that makes me SO happy.
I know it’s a poll and I know it doesn’t determine everything in life. I haven’t talked to my shitty old pal since June, but I want to send her this link more than ever. I won’t stoop to that level, which is why I’ll just rant on the blog.

So, hey Adrie, GREAT MOVE. ๐Ÿ™‚

ps.BUH BYE.

3 Responses to “LAS VEGAS!”

  1. Rachel Del Grosso October 1, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    I’m going to comment because I think having moved here from Ontario, Canada that perhaps I have a unique perspective (or maybe I’m just saying that to make myself feel more special…). I will admit that once I knew that I was going to be moving here I was a little weary about raising a family here; not because I think people who were raised here aren’t normal or totally amazing (hello, Valerie!) but because I feel l like once the kids reach a certain age you have a lot more to contend with than in other cities. The strip can be a crazy place…. However, I do realize that if kids are going to find trouble, they will find it no matter where they live, so I guess that what I’m saying is that perhaps Vegas is just all that more tempting….

    Will I raise a family here? Perhaps. I guess I’ll deal with it all when I get to that point.

    As for that list of the best places to raise a family? If that’s not a good reason to move to Honolulu, I don’t know what is ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Valerie October 6, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Called out!

    Um I did business in Utah for a year, and I saw much scarier things than I ever saw here, or in LA, where I lived for three years.

    Things are not always what they seem, and uprooting a family should involve more critical thinking than what looks like was employed in that decision.

  3. Notes from McBotes October 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    haha! Was thinking the same thing about Hawaii! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Valerie- exactly!! Ay yi yi.. people make me crazy!

    I actually just heard a debate about this on the radio yesterday morning. It started because there was a survey done about who is proud of where they are from and who isnt and sadly, it seems as though several people just aren’t “proud” to say they are from Las Vegas.

    This guy called in who was born and raised in Utah, and is now raising his family in Las Vegas. He made a good point about how it’s EASIER to raise a family in Vegas because there’s no gray area. It’s all black and white and that line between right and wrong is as thick as it’ll ever be. In so many other places, including where he came from, there’s way too much gray area and deciding between right and wrong just isn’t easy.
    (He said it better than me, but it made SO much sense)

    Anyway, I got so annoyed within 10 minutes I had to turn the station. LoL.

    Rachel, at least you have an open mind! I think so many people just think the worst without realizing that wherever you go is only what you make of it! I was born and raised here and my mom kept us pretty sheltered considering what we could have done and witnessed.

Leave a Reply

